Hong Kong Geography Map

Hong Kong is a Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. It is composed of the Hong Kong Island, Kowloon Peninsula [including Kowloon and the New Territories] and 235 islands [the largest being Lantau Island]. The total area is 1098.08 sq km, three-quarters of which are hilly terrain.

It is located at the mouth of Pearl River (Zhujiang), just south of the Chinese city Shenzhen. It stretches from 22°08'N - 22°35N and from 113°49'E - 114°31'E.

Hong Kong lies in the subtropical region. Each year in March and April, the climate becomes warm, humid and foggy. From May to September, it is hot, humid and rainy, with an average temperature of 30 - 35°C, and frequently hit by typhoons. In October, it gradually cools off and becomes less humid. From November to February, under the influence of the Siberian winds from the China mainland, it is cool and dry.